An Open Letter to Disney

To be fair I didn’t expect Disney to respond. I had emailed them twice. The first time I got the suggestion I buy Pirates of the Caribbean merchandise instead (clearly they don’t understand 5 year olds!). The second time I got the suggestion I visit the Disney stores in either Florida or California (I explain I was UK-based, but they missed the point that they simply don’t offer the merchandise I wanted to buy anyway).

My daughter is a huge fan of the Power Rangers Mystic Force. She would love to have clothing in the range. We were looking at your Power Rangers Mystic Force swimsuits and encountered three problems.

1. All Power Rangers Mystic Force Clothing is aimed at boys. Tee shirts and pajamas are OK to be worn by girls as well. But you only do swimshorts. Couldn’t you add a bikini or bandeau top so that girls can wear them too?

2. Your merchandising does not feature the two girl rangers, Vida and Madison. All your merchandising features the three boy rangers, Nick, Xander and Chip. Consequently my daughter feels left out and excluded. Why are the girls missing?

3. Even the Power Ranger costumes only come in the boy’s colors. My daughter can dress up as Nick, Chip or Xander. No Madison or Vida costumes are available. She is getting the message loud and clear that the girl rangers are not as good as the boy rangers. Girls are not inferior so why does your merchandising contain that message?

I hope you can answer the above. Since my daughter was three years old, she’s wanted to be a boy because her favourite characters don’t feature girls in the merchandise range and don’t offer clothing suitable for girls as well as boys. She does not want to be a princess, even a pirate princess, she wants to be a Power Ranger. We find baffling that although there are female Power Rangers, none of the merchandising/costumes feature the girl rangers.

By the way I sent the above letter in June 2007, giving them plenty of time to respond. But they haven’t, so I’ve posted it here.

One Response to “An Open Letter to Disney”

  1. Clothing » An Open Letter to Disney Says:

    […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt1. All Power Rangers Mystic Force Clothing is aimed at boys. Tee shirts and pajamas are OK to be worn by girls as well. But you only do swimshorts. Couldn’t you add a bikini or bandeau top so that girls can wear them too? … […]


Leave a Reply

