How Not to Pitch Guest Blog Posts

Recently I’ve received several pitches for guest posts on this blog, all of which I’ve had to reject. My guidelines, http://www.emmalee1.wordpress.com/guest-posts/, aren’t proscriptive but give an idea of what I’m looking for in a guest post.

Reasons for Rejection of Guest Post Pitches

I’m not going to identify individuals who’ve sent pitches or specific reasons for rejection. However, the pitches were rejected for one of more of the following reasons:

  • Failure to demonstrate how the proposal related to my blog.
  • Failure to demonstrate the person proposing to write for my blog could write
  • Expectation that I have the time to click through on various links supplied and read articles posted elsewhere when the topics of those articles have nothing do to with my blog
  • Failure to actually state the topic of the proposed article
  • Failure to recognise that the pitch is a sample of writing and if I’m not given enough information to make a decision within your pitch, then rejection will follow

How to Avoid getting a Rejection for a Guest Post Pitch

Read the guidelines (if any are given)

Mine are here: http://www.emmalee1.wordpress.com/guest-posts/.

I don’t want to waste my time reading pitches that aren’t going to be successful. You don’t want to waste time preparing a pitch that’s guaranteed to be rejected.

Pitch on a relevant topic

If you can’t tell me what your proposed guest article is about and why it’s relevant to my blog, I will reject your pitch. You may have a great article about the automotive industry, but it’s not going to fit here so why not target a more relevant blog instead?

State what Your Topic is

One pitch stated the writer wanted to write a guest post, but didn’t say what the post would be about or why it was relevant. The links to samples of work sent were on articles that wouldn’t fit here.

I don’t have time to get back and ask why you’re pitching or ask you to supply your proposed article to read unless I can be reasonably confident I’m going to use the article.

Why would I suggest a topic for you to write about when I can write it myself?

Respect a Blogger’s Time

Blogs usually get written around other work and commitments. If you include links in your pitch to other articles you’ve written, make sure they’re relevant or explain why you’re including those specific links. If you’re proposing to write about poetry but the links are to articles about parenthood, how do I know you can write about poetry?

Your Pitch is your Writing Sample – get it right

I don’t have time to read every single word of your pitch. I’m looking for a pitch that tells me what you’re proposing to write about, that you can show your proposed topic is relevant to my blog and that your writing is going to interest my readers.

I’ll know by the end of your first sentence whether I’m going to reject or accept your pitch. I might read on just to confirm my initial decision, but I’ve never changed one yet.

By

Relevant Post:

How to Pitch a Guest Post for a Blog

One Response to “How Not to Pitch Guest Blog Posts”

  1. spakravan Says:

    Thanks, Emma Lee. As always, your post is pithy and courteous and you don’t address your readers as though they’re idiots or an imposition on your time. And thanks for an excellent blog.


Leave a Reply

